Grey Ship

Okay, this is getting weird. I think I have an obsession. Maybe it’s my love for music mixing with my love for design that I can’t get these posters out of my head. But here’s another one. And this one hits a little deeper than the other two. It’s not that I don’t adore St. Vincent and Wilco, but there’s something about “Grey Ship” by EMA that can crawl underneath your skin until your sinking in its musical journey. Even in Pitchfork’s review of Past Life Martyred Saints, Nick Neyland says, “For the most part, it’s a white-knuckle ride. There’s no pretense or pose here. No pulling back from the brink to foster an air of cool detachment. Anderson’s music has the power to plummet to the depths and drag you right down there with her.” I really couldn’t agree more.

While I took select verses from the previous featured songs, I feel I captured more of the essence of “Grey Ship.” A hauntingly beautiful song about death, I tried to give the ship a ghostly element and create the illusion that the anchor may be attempting to hook EMA to take her along for the ride to the other side.

The verses at the bottom read, “I hear all them calling, the pearly gates. We’ve all gone together, we’ve all gone to sleep. I hear a choir. I hear a symphony…” Give you the shivers yet? Wait to you give it a listen:


One response to “Grey Ship

Leave a comment